The Honking Goose

something to honk about

second born

I’ve been dreaming about this blog for months.  It is my second.

I have another blog where I post cheery news about my parenting adventures.  My relatives and friends all know about that blog and a lot of them check up on it and read it, too.   Which is all very sweet and nice.  But what I’ve longed for lately is a space to really let loose.  Stomp my feet.  Honk my horn.

secondborn

Creating this space for myself feels a little like giving birth to a second child.  I know what  I’m doing this time.  And although I’m plenty proud and happy with what I made the first time around, I’m equally sure that I will do things differently with this one.

How about you?  Do you share your blog with people you know IRL?  Or do you keep your blogging life separate?  Do your choices affect what you write about?

44 comments on “second born

  1. dbp49
    November 24, 2014

    For myself that’s a really interesting question since as I’ve admitted to the fact elsewhere on these pages, that due to leftover symptoms from some childhood stuff that we don’t need to get into here, I only have a social circle IRL of less than 5 people (maybe 3). What I do have is a huge supply of medical practitioners who either treat me, counsel me, or have over the years, become people I can reach out to in times of serious need. That wonderful group of people, though I’m sure they don’t consider me their friend, do read my Blog postings, and yes, it does at times affect what I post. But mainly in a good way, so what the heck, as long as I hear the occasional honk in my backyard, I’m a happy blogger. So we’ll read you later.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      November 24, 2014

      You bring up a good point that sometimes censoring ourselves is in our own best interest. It can improve our writing as well as improve our general outlook sometimes, I believe.

      Like

  2. darkinkling
    November 23, 2014

    I choose to write anonymously because that helps me express without hindrance. I’m worried about hurting family and close friends if I’m too open about what I think. We’re a culture of conservatives and I’ve always been taught to keep emotions at arms length.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      November 24, 2014

      It is really nice to have a space to write freely without worrying about judgement from family and friends. My husband and my kids know that I have this blog and my husband reads some of the posts occasionally. But no one else I know IRL knows about it yet. Sometimes I’m tempted to share it, so I can be like “look how cool I am” (heh). But the risk outweighs the reward. Truth is, other bloggers appreciate the Honking Goose more than most people who I know IRL would.

      Liked by 1 person

      • darkinkling
        November 24, 2014

        Wise wise words. Risk and reward – an important thought whenever I’m tempted to share and look cool in front of friends. Because blogging is kinda cool. I know exactly what you’re talking about.
        Wonderful that you can share it with your husband!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. A.PROMPTreply
    October 23, 2014

    Hello. I bloghopped over to thank you for finding and following my blog. I now get here and find out you’re the proud owner of 2 blogs? That amazes me! I can barely keep one going. I do think that having people know where my blog is affects what I write sometimes. I like how you’ve solved that issue with your 2nd blog. Am off to do a bit of exploring on your new baby here. Thanks again for finding me!

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 23, 2014

      Thanks for taking a peek around. Don’t be too amazed, I’m not really keeping the other blog going any more. This one is a lot more fun for me. 😀

      Like

      • A.PROMPTreply
        October 23, 2014

        I can imagine that’s true! It’s a good idea though. You’ll have to keep up the other one just a bit though…to throw any suspicious parties off your trail!

        Like

  4. Hazel
    October 7, 2014

    The more people read my blog, the more anxious I feel. Just because I feel like “will I offend someone?”. But blogging in private isn’t fun as there is literally no one to talk to. It gets lonely! Hence why I’ve made mine public. As for real life friends and family, I would hate them to ever find my blog. I would feel constantly watched and judged. My sister found my twitter and i don’t even like that! So i don’t put any links on there for her to find. I just like my privacy. To rant, to rave etc.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 7, 2014

      I thought it would be easier, but it is still complicated. I was relieved when my husband and kids discovered I was writing a new blog because for the first few days I felt like I was being deceptive and hiding something from them and it felt wrong. I really wanted to just have a place to blow off steam and connect with other people who have similar experience. Now I’m not sure its that simple. Ugh.

      Like

      • Hazel
        October 7, 2014

        I’m new to your blog so I don’t know what you wrote about her or how old your kids are but maybe you can continue writing without being deceptive. Just tell your kids that you have a blog and it’s like your diary. Don’t let them read it like you wouldn’t read theirs. That way they can’t accidently tell your MIL anything

        Like

        • thehonkinggoose
          October 7, 2014

          That’s actually exactly what I did tell my older son (he’ll be 10 this week). But wondering if he might mention it to her anyway is making me anxious.

          Like

  5. Underdaddy
    October 6, 2014

    My entire IRL facebook knows who I am but I still try to speak my mind. My grandmother read an article full of f-bombs. On the upside she shared it. It does make me censor myself though.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 6, 2014

      I want to not censor myself, but its not completely possible. I’m gonna keep reaching for it though.

      Like

  6. insaitablesatie514
    October 5, 2014

    I’m LOVING The honking goose!! Awesome blog!

    Like

  7. monaresa
    October 5, 2014

    . I don’t want people to follow me just because they want the follow backs, either. Your blog is great! Thanks for following mine, so I could discover yours 🙂

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 5, 2014

      I appreciate that, I’m glad you enjoyed something here. Thanks for checking it out!

      Like

  8. eduardodefrutos
    October 2, 2014

    From what I’ve read so far of your blog, it seems a very good one. It’s a good thing you discovered my blog so that I can begin reading yours.

    Like

  9. Maisy Fernandez
    October 2, 2014

    I’m glad you found my blog because it helped me discover yours. Love the posts. Looking forward to seeing more!

    Like

  10. anna mosca
    October 2, 2014

    I think your second blog is a good idea! I have a photography site and a poetry blog. The latter is kind of a “blurting out” as much as writing poetry, which is my profession along with photography, allows me. I like the immediacy of a blog, printed stuff is so definitive and “engraved on stone”, LOL. What I like the best on a blog too is the interaction and comments of the readers. So here I am. Best to you 🙂

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 2, 2014

      It’s so much fun. I agree, the best part is the comments. Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  11. Becki Duckworth
    October 1, 2014

    Nice to meet you Goose, and thank you for stopping by my blog.
    Becki

    Like

  12. Craig
    September 29, 2014

    Hello! Me too! I also have a second blog, it gave me the idea that I can have this one as well. The other is about coffee so I’m kinda limited as to what I can talk about there. I think, might be just me

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      September 29, 2014

      Hey, we’re not hurting anyone. We can have as many blogs as we want, right?

      Like

  13. michaeljferrians
    September 29, 2014

    Hi, Goose. Impressed with your honesty on this, your second blog you’ve started. I value honesty. To answer the question, I will share my posts publicly when appropriate, but I have a very clear filter for doing so. As a church pastor, I have a very public life as it is, and need a place/space for expressing myself freely as a way to practice the writing craft.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      September 29, 2014

      I assume that is your real name (and picture). So since you identify your real life self on your blog, do you ever feel the need to censor your words?

      Like

      • michaeljferrians
        September 29, 2014

        Yes, real name and picture. It was important to me to be upfront and real if blogging was going to be a disciplined attempt at writing and self-expression. I have no need to hide (hiding has historically been bad for me), and I have no need for a pen name. If I felt I needed to censor (filter), I would simply not post to FB (my local, familiar real-world community). Make sense?

        Like

  14. folakemiodoaje
    September 22, 2014

    Enjoy reading your blog. Interesting, as my blog was set up so I have a place to ‘let loose’ as well. It is semi private because only a few people from RL know about it. I am interested in writing about issues/people that are less talked about.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      September 23, 2014

      Thanks for you comment. I checked out your blog. Your topics are very current. It is not the sort of thing I usually read about, but I’m going to follow your blog with the intention of expanding my horizons.

      Liked by 1 person

      • folakemiodoaje
        September 23, 2014

        Thank you. Hope you are able to learn a few new things from my blog just as I have from yours

        Like

  15. tessarooo
    September 22, 2014

    I’m all about “Adopt, Don’t Shop”. I volunteer for two rescues and have an animal advocacy page on FB. 🙂

    Like

  16. tessarooo
    September 22, 2014

    Hello! I, too, need a place where I can “let loose”, “have at it”, and “let my hair down”. I’ve only shared my blog (on purpose!) with a couple of people that I’m close with IRL. I’ll be sure to follow your blog and will look forward to your posts! Start “honking”! 🙂

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      September 22, 2014

      Thanks for answering my question and for your kind words. I enjoyed your post about not judging people based on the way they look. And I’m with you all the way about pet adoption, too.

      Like

Honk at me:

Information

This entry was posted on September 21, 2014 by in Blogging, Personal and tagged , , , .

Navigation

