The Honking Goose

something to honk about

internet killed the cable television provider

Well, it hasn’t yet.  But that is what I’m hoping for.

We don’t have a television.  We have cable high speed internet.  We don’t want to pay for an additional cable TV subscription.  And why should we?

Image source: I stole this off of the internet

Image source: Internet

Unfortunately, network providers have started holding back certain shows and episodes from the internet.  Some just have a time delay of one week or several months; some aren’t available on the internet at all.  On Hulu, for instance, you can pay for Hulu plus to get access to shows right after they’re aired.  Users of the free Hulu site have to wait a week for the same shows.  Is that really necessary?

Many network providers now require users to login with their cable TV subscription in order to access shows on the internet.  Is that necessary?

Internet video streaming has already seriously ramped up the minutes dedicated to commercial breaks.  Surely they’re making loads of money on the advertising.  So if we’re watching their paid advertising, isn’t that enough?

With new ways to watch TV through the internet like Google Play and Amazon Fire TV, a cable subscription is superfluous.  Cable providers need to give up the ghost and get over it.  The internet is here to stay and it is a better, faster, stronger way to access news and entertainment.

We were able to watch the World Cup soccer games livestream on Watch ESPN this summer, which I thought was wonderful.  I think it is one of many promising signs that we’ll be able to access more and more via the internet and as a society give up cable television for good some day soon.

What do you think?

9 comments on “internet killed the cable television provider

  1. eduardodefrutos
    October 2, 2014

    Absolutely true. I think our way of life will change (and has changed) completely since the hatching of the Internet. The world is changing so fast that companies should review their way of making money.

    Like

  2. Norm Houseman
    September 30, 2014

    You may be right about the demise of cable TV, but I hope not. I dislike watching anything longer than a YouTube video on a computer screen. I realize that I am hopelessly behind the curve on this. Heck, I still buy DVD’s. But I have a hard time imagining a family huddled around their individual iPads, binge watching The Walking Dead.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      September 30, 2014

      But that’s the whole point of Google Play and Amazon Fire TV, you can watch it all on your big flat screen TV. I can’t wait until we get a flat screen TV, I’m tired of watching things on my computer, too!

      Like

      • Norm Houseman
        September 30, 2014

        Oh. So now you want to befuddle me with logical arguments. Hmff! I’m just trying to be a grumpy old man who feels left behind by Amazon’s and Google’s Skynet technology. Hmff, I say!

        Subject: [New comment] internet killed the cable television provider

        thehonkinggoose commented: “But that’s the whole point of Google Play and Amazon Fire TV, you can watch it all on your big flat screen TV. I can’t wait until we get a flat screen TV, I’m tired of watching things on my computer, too!”

        Like

        • thehonkinggoose
          September 30, 2014

          You’ll LOVE having internet on your TV once you get used to it. I’ll come over to your house and set it up for you if you buy me a flat screen TV. 😉

          Like

  3. Craig
    September 30, 2014

    I agree, the skeletal few that still watch tv probably aren’t as computer literate as they’d hope to be. I give it within the next two generations.

    Also, when I get famous(lol) I want to be quoted as saying “Everything I learned about the Internet, I did from the Internet.”

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      September 30, 2014

      I don’t want to wait that long! Maybe I should organize a charitable organization that would help people set up the internet on their TVs. Then perhaps I could write off a flat screen TV for my house as a business expense.

      Like

Honk at me:

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2014 by in Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , .
