The Honking Goose

something to honk about

everybody loves school picture day

Not.

Today was picture day at my sons’ school. Over the weekend, I began to think about what they would wear for their school pictures. They had outgrown the more formal button down shirts in the closet. The shirts they wear everyday to school are a rotating mix of t-shirts with pictures and screen prints on them, some of them very well loved (and worn). I mentioned to my husband that I didn’t know what they would wear and I might need to buy them new shirts for picture day.

“No, you don’t need to do that,” he says, “They can wear any t-shirt that doesn’t have a design on the front.” Mmm, hmmm. So I went to Ross yesterday and bought them new button down shirts.

boys button down shirts

Because not everything has to be a joint decision. Sometimes Mom knows best.

Do your kids get dressed up for school picture day? Do they get to wear whatever they want or do you help them choose? Do they complain about wearing more formal clothes like my boys did (at great length, both before and after school)?

34 comments on “everybody loves school picture day

  1. Joy
    October 22, 2014

    My daughter just had picture day last week – I had to bribe her to stay in the outfit I picked out by letting her bring a more comfortable shirt to school lol – and by the way, thanks so much for checking out my blog and following!

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 23, 2014

      I think to myself – seriously? I used to dress you kids every single day for years when you were too little to do it yourself. I think you could let me pick out one outfit for one day, it’s not gonna be the end of the world. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thanks for talking a look around the Honking Goose!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. John
    October 9, 2014

    We had ours at the beginning of the month. Fortunately the school has a dress code (navy blue, grey, or white is allowed) so that makes the question of what to wear pretty simple. My kid’s six and he wore a navy v-neck with a white polo shirt underneath. The big issue was getting his hair cut the day before at the kid-friendly barber shop where he had to wait his turn behind a small army of girls getting their “Elsa braid” for *their* school photos. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 9, 2014

      I chose (and won) the shirt battle, but decided to surrender on the hair battle and just let it be what it was… there’s only so much a mother can do. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  3. I let my son wear whatever he wants. I figure it’s a real representation of what he was like that school year, why would I want him looking different?
    Of course, I did always try and make sure his hair was brushed neatly that day! Cause, individualism only goes so far! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 9, 2014

      I figure my boys wearing the nice shirts I picked out is a real representation of them doing something special just for me, even if they didn’t want to. But I totally respect your way, too. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  4. sacredhandscoven
    October 9, 2014

    Personally, I always told my sons to pick out their favorite shirt at the times. T-shirt with design, eye-blindingly colored dress shirt, favorite oddly colored polo, whatever they wanted. I wanted us to be able to look at the pictures in years to come and remember exactly the phase they were in at the time.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 9, 2014

      I figure they get to pick every other day, and I have plenty of pictures of them wearing what they chose. But I respect your reasoning, for sure.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. livelaughlove2020
    October 9, 2014

    My kids had picture day too. And as always any mother (I know I do) want their child or children to be dressed and looking their best. No harm there. We are mothers and I times we make a split decision especially if we feel it benefits the kids. And Ross is cheap and affordable. Love that store! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 9, 2014

      Plus, they can wear those shirts to holiday parties this year, so it really was worth it. Even if they refuse to wear them any other time. I know how to pick my battles. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  6. Hazel
    October 9, 2014

    It’s times like these that I was grateful we had to wear uniforms!

    Like

  7. Meredith
    October 8, 2014

    I,would buy the shirts too. My older boys hated that. My younger one liked it.

    Like

  8. Dave Malnes
    October 8, 2014

    Yes, our sons complained. Now they are 20 and 22 and thanking us for making them do things like getting dress up for school. Good post. Thank you.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 9, 2014

      Thanks for reading. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s great to be appreciated for parenting, isn’t it?

      Like

  9. Maisy Fernandez
    October 8, 2014

    Luckily, my son doesn’t (yet) put up much of a fuss when I pick out his picture shirts, but he’s only in kindergarten. He calls any shirt with buttons his “nice shirts” and I think it’s so novel for him to wear them, he doesn’t mind. Otherwise, thought, it’s superheroes, trucks and stripes all day, every day.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 9, 2014

      Yeah, when my kids were younger all I had to do to get them to wear what I wanted was to put it on the top of the clothes in the drawer. They didn’t care, they’d just reach in and put on the first thing they touched. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  10. ginjuh
    October 8, 2014

    We sent William (6) in a nice plaid button up, but he had a black eye from a playground accident, so the picture was either bust or extra-awesome, depending on your perspective.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 8, 2014

      Ha! One year my son insisted on wearing one of his dad’s ties, which was ridiculous enough on him because he was only seven. But when we got the prints, instead of wearing it the way we’d sent him to school, he had the tie loosely draped around him like a scarf! It was terrible (or extra-awesome as you put it). Certainly memorable.

      Like

  11. Sometimes I helped the kids pick out clothes for picture day, basically though I would usually say, make sure there are no torn clothes and they are clean. I never purchased any of the pictures, they were just far too expensive, and hubby took better pictures.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 8, 2014

      They are horribly over priced. This year I figured out I could go online and just order a disc with digital copies of the individual and the class picture. I’m going to get prints made for much less!

      Like

  12. Stephen McLeod
    October 8, 2014

    I love the way you told this, about consulting your partner and then just shopping, when the answer was … unhelpful. Made me smile. Good stuff.

    Like

  13. Marissa Bergen
    October 8, 2014

    Actually we stopped ordering the individual prints, we just get the class picture for memories. The individual pictures always seem to be the worst possible pics taken of my children EVER so picture day outfits are not a big decision into house.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 8, 2014

      I have well over a thousand pictures of my kids running, leaping, and climbing so I’m looking forward to have one single picture of them sitting still. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      • Marissa Bergen
        October 9, 2014

        I guess I can see that. I think somehow the sitting still can bring out the awkward smiles in mine. Hopefully yours are different.

        Like

  14. grannyK
    October 8, 2014

    I used to hate picture day for my kids! My daughter was so picky about clothes and hated having her hair brushed, let alone fixed up nice! It was a horrible morning. My son would have been happy to wear his pajamas and usually had a dirty face and ruffled hair, too.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 8, 2014

      I’m glad it only comes once a year. My boys were acting like I’d asked them to go to school in hair shirts.

      Like

  15. Camila
    October 8, 2014

    I personally always hated picture day no matter what I wore. Great blog!
    I have a fashion blog if you’d like to check it out: http://thegeekchickblog.com/
    Camila

    Like

Honk at me:

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2014 by in Marriage, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
