The Honking Goose

something to honk about

my kid said that 2

My almost 8 year old son is learning to read. He is very smart, but he was slow to read. His reading skills have really taken off exponentially just in the last month. For school, he brings home a library book and he has to read it 3 to 4 times and then he’ll take a test on it. So, we read through it together the first time, and then he reads it out loud himself with me next to him to help with the harder words.
green speech bubble
He’s been bringing home a series of books called Mr. Putter and Tabby. There was this one word, when he would get to it he would try to guess-remember what it was and he kept saying,

“clitorium”

The word was “geranium”.

21 comments on “my kid said that 2

  1. Maria Matthews
    October 21, 2014

    I woke Bob up with my stupid laughter. You have a great site, I will be back for more. On the reading issue how is he with ogres and witches, could he take a look at: http://mudpilewood.wordpress.com and see if he likes any of the stuff on it? An honest review from him would be much appreciated.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 21, 2014

      I’m glad you got a laugh out of this one. I will take a look at your site, but reviews are not my bag. Thanks for coming by the Honking Goose! 😀

      Like

  2. Kimberly
    October 9, 2014

    I literally just laughed out loud!!

    Like

  3. AlwaysARedhead
    October 9, 2014

    lol

    Like

  4. mzpresser
    October 9, 2014

    lmbo

    Like

  5. Your Moderate Mama
    October 9, 2014

    Okay… I can’t help myself… I must define “clitorium”

    Clitorium:

    A place
    A place in which men go to work hard
    A place that might induce sweating
    A place that one needs to visit 2-3x per week for health purposes

    Okay… I’ll stop there!!

    Like

  6. Supriya
    October 9, 2014

    Hilarious!!! how old is he?

    Like

  7. Megan Holt
    October 9, 2014

    Kids just say the darnest things… =]

    Like

  8. emiliamueller
    October 9, 2014

    :))) He knows something but he doesn’t know that he knows it yet!

    Like

  9. hahahahaahaha! Nice!

    Like

  10. mybrightspots
    October 9, 2014

    LOL!

    Like

  11. Marissa Bergen
    October 9, 2014

    Well, as long as he doesn’t let it slip in class…

    Like

Honk at me:

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2014 by in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , .
