The Honking Goose

something to honk about

the internet is public

Hey, gang. So I was thinking,

The internet is public. You’re smart. You know this. I do too. We all know it, but we don’t all remember. We don’t all understand, grok, dig, appreciate this. The internet is public.

When we are on the internet, we are on one website, looking at one page on that website. It’s like being in a room. And we are standing in that room looking at one wall in the room. The room is in an apartment. The apartment is in a building. The building is in a neighborhood. The neighborhood is in a city. The city is in a state. The state is in a country. The country is on a continent. The continent is in the world.

earth with thought bubbles

Image source: pixabay

The whole world is the internet. And we are standing in one room looking at one wall. It’s really easy to move to another room and look at another wall. We can instantly jump across the world and look at a different wall in a different room in a different building. But we can really only take in one wall at a time (maybe two).

So it can feel small, even when it is so big. The internet is so public. It’s more public than any town square or city hall or television station broadcast.

Yet when we put something up on our own wall in our own room, maybe no one will look at it that day, or just a handful of people. So it can feel not very public. But remember, someone can come look at our wall in our room any time, maybe years in the future, they’ll come and look, if they find the right map, if they get good directions. If we put it up there, it’s there for anyone to see.

So let’s keep that in mind, when we are decorating our walls, okay gang?

25 comments on “the internet is public

  1. Sherri Of Palm Springs
    October 16, 2014

    Wonderful the way you put this article, I hope this gets thru all kids heads…They don’t realize..there reputation will follow them no matter where they go and so does the net…please think before you do and that goes for anything in you lives…mom of 5
    Sherri

    Like

  2. IdealisticRebel
    October 16, 2014

    Reblogged this on idealisticrebel.

    Like

  3. prior
    October 10, 2014

    very good reminder – and have you heard that some sites take screen shots of what someone does while visiting a site – they actually monitor and record what is viewed and I guess other things – pretty crazy big brother stuff going on – but we can use wisdom along the way – like what you post here- and I think word pressers can also opt out of 2 rings in their settings – which will offer more privacyโ€ฆ hm

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 11, 2014

      I did not know there were sites taking screen shots of what people are looking at. But nothing really surprises me anymore, it’s a weird wild world out there.

      Like

  4. Pingback: it’s getting hot in here, so take off all your photos | The Honking Goose

  5. From The Pews
    October 10, 2014

    Very well put!!

    Like

  6. Ruth Chadwick
    October 10, 2014

    Good post. Lots to remember – including that even if you delete posted content, it is still accessible. Always. Worth considering, especially if you’re a keen sharer. It might not be so appealing in 10 years!

    Like

  7. Norbert Haupt
    October 10, 2014

    And that’s exactly why I just made the effort to whitewash my wall in Facebook:
    http://norberthaupt.com/2014/09/25/the-evil-side-of-facebook/
    I am done with that now – and it’s completely clean, except for a few announcements it refuses to let me trash.

    Like

  8. PsiFiGal
    October 10, 2014

    Hi there, thanks for following my blog, I like your writing style ๐Ÿ™‚ This post is great, you explained the internet in a way that would be a good teaching tool for young children, know any teachers? I read your about page, I too live under a “goose highway” and love to hear them on their travels, and when I hear a lone goose, going north or south off-season, I wonder about them and hope that they make it to their summer/winter home safely. Have a great weekend!

    Mary ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 10, 2014

      My husband teaches a technology class at the charter school where he works. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I thought the geese around here were migrating too, until I went for a bird watch tour at the marsh and learned that most of the geese in this area live here year round (the weather is mild) and they just locally migrate to different feeding grounds.

      Thanks for reading the Honking Goose! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      • PsiFiGal
        October 10, 2014

        omygosh I forgot to click “follow” when I went to your site earlier, I was just so excited about the post and the geese I guess hee hee *blush*. I’m not sure but I think we get some Canadian geese, twice a year here. I live near Portland Oregon in Tualatin and there’s wetlands across the street from my condo, lots of frogs live there and they serenade us in the summertime. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  9. Annabel
    October 10, 2014

    I know I’m going to sound really old now, but I don’t think the youngsters today realise how vulnerable they are when they post things……

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 10, 2014

      We got AOL chat when I was sixteen and it was so new, I didn’t have a clue how to use it appropriately. And my parents had no idea what I was doing on there. So I sympathize with young-uns today. It’s not an easy thing to navigate, and it is too new for there to be reliable established practices to follow.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Sarah Kilgore
    October 10, 2014

    And amazing how you can feel you know someone just by looking at their living room wall. . . . when their world is so much bigger than that!

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 10, 2014

      And I love the connections we can make this way, but I know from experience that it is best to be cautious.

      Like

  11. D.T. Nova
    October 10, 2014

    Of course I end up reading something like this the same day I post about hentai…
    .

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 10, 2014

      Just googled hentai on bing. Oh. Now to read what you posted…

      Like

      • D.T. Nova
        October 10, 2014

        “googled…on bing”
        I think this is the point where we can say Google has lost the battle to prevent their trademark from becoming genericized.

        Like

  12. 2 Scoops
    October 10, 2014

    Lol, now I am paranoid and changed my user name…thanks honking goose!

    Like

  13. missamyjackson
    October 10, 2014

    So true and literally so important to always bear in mind!

    Like

Honk at me:

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2014 by in Blogging, Culture, Unsolicited Advice and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
