The Honking Goose

something to honk about

a stronger role model: Gwen Stefani

Hey gang, good morning.

I’m wondering if everything I said yesterday about Miley Cyrus was completely absurd. I basically still agree with myself, but I reserve the right to change my mind any time, okay?

Gwen Stefani NFL kickoff

Gwen Stefani

So, I was searching my brain files, trying to come up with some truly strong females in music who don’t use sex to sell their image and the result returned to me was: Gwen Stefani. She has come to the forefront of my focus because she is a new coach on season 7 of the Voice right now. I’ve been a fan of her music since I was in high school (goodness, that was a long time ago!). She is this awesome rocker chick with a really bold attitude. I think she is sexy, too, but that hasn’t ever been central to her image. She is fierce, strong, and talented first. I love me some Gwen Stefani – ha ha!

Like I say, though, her career really took off when I was in high school and that is pretty long ago now. Who are the great female musician role models of today? In the comments on the previous post the ones mentioned were: Taylor Swift, Katy Perry, and Adele. I like “All About That Bass” by Meghan Trainor so I’m looking forward to seeing if she’ll keep coming with more.

Can you think of some other rockin’ role models? I want to hear your thoughts, honk at me!

25 comments on “a stronger role model: Gwen Stefani

  1. grevisangel73
    October 28, 2016

    If I am related to Gwen, I have not inherited her talent or looks.

    Like

  2. dougstuber
    November 25, 2014

    I missed Meghan Trainor until now. Very retro-catchy tune. Thanks

    Like

  3. christianliving2014
    October 21, 2014

    She’s my favorite singer too. I also like Ashley Simpson.

    Like

  4. myatheistlife
    October 20, 2014

    Nobody seems to have mentioned any of female artists in metal music. Or both. Lots of female singers there and they are not using sex as a marketing tool; epica, Tara, the agonist, evanescence, arch enemy, in this moment, otep, Laguna coil, and many more. Celebrity status generally is applied only to those that grab headlines with sex or stunts.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 20, 2014

      I haven’t heard of any of those; that is not a genre I am familiar with. So thanks for sharing those names.

      Like

      • myatheistlife
        October 20, 2014

        There are a lot of European bands that don’t get air time here in the states and they have a surprising number of female singers where traditionally it was male singers. The subgenres of metal music include mixtures of opera, symphony, and progressive which are not the stereotypical devil music that many think of when they hear metal.

        Like

    • Ally M
      October 21, 2014

      I couldn’t agree more! People nowadays just look at what’s “sexy” and “mainstream.”

      Like

  5. Wyrd Smythe
    October 19, 2014

    Well, I’m probably dating myself on some of these, but: Tori Amos, Sarah McLachlan, Alanis Morissette, Joan Jett, Cyndi Lauper, P!nk, Sheryl Crow, Fiona Apple, Pat Benatar, Chrissie Hynde, Bonnie Tyler, Norah Jones, Gwen Stefani, Juliette Lewis, SinΓ©ad O’Connor, Lucinda Williams, Rickie Lee Jones, Melissa Etheridge, Joan Osborne, Enya, Janis Ian, Joan Armatrading, Bonnie Raitt, Selena Gomez, Tracy Chapman, Paula Abdul, Joni Mitchell, Emmylou Harris, Belinda Carlisle, Jewel, Carly Simon, Taylor Swift, Carole King, Linda Rondstadt, Shania Twain, Faith Hill, Amy Winehouse, Katy Perry, Mary J. Blige, Gloria Estefan, Celine Dion, Lady Gaga, Alicia Keys…

    And those are just some of the ones I’m familiar with. The music world is filled with talented women whose work stands on its own. Not that most of these aren’t also beautiful and sexy women, but that is secondary to their music.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 19, 2014

      That is a comprehensive list my friend. Filled with musicians that I have enjoyed listening to, which shows that you and I are from roughly the same era. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • Wyrd Smythe
        October 19, 2014

        I believe you said you were in your 30s, so that puts you about a generation behind me. I left off a number of older names, but my musical taste spans, like, forever.

        Like

  6. Megan Holt
    October 13, 2014

    I think P!nk is a great example of a “bad girl” who we’ve been able to watch grow up over the years. She also has some pretty powerful music, and she definitely isn’t your typical pop star who exudes sex appeal. When I think of P!nk, I think of a strong woman who has very powerful music with powerful messages.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 13, 2014

      Oh, good choice! I’m not real familiar with her music, but I’ll give her a listen today, thanks.

      Like

      • Megan Holt
        October 13, 2014

        I really like the music video for Try. I love how much her music has progressed and evolved over the past 15 years or so.

        Like

  7. dotcablogger
    October 13, 2014

    I have to look through your WordPress for “Why don’t people like Mickey Cyrus?”.

    Like

  8. cllgarrison
    October 13, 2014

    My only problem with the “All About that Bass” song is that while it may try to empower women with curves, it also kind of bashes thin women. “Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches that.” I feel like the song wouldn’t have meant any less to thicker gals if that line had been omitted. We should all love our bodies, no matter our shape.

    I really like Beyonce myself. She is beautiful and a strong successful woman and she is a feminist! Even though she is very sexy, I don’t feel like her sex appeal is all that’s made her.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 13, 2014

      Thanks for the suggestion. I obviously have heard of Beyonce, even from under my rock, and I like some of her songs that I have listened to.

      As far as “All About that Bass” bashing thin women, I just don’t really think it does that. The next line is “nah, I’m just playin'”. Is it that harsh? I just see it as a glancing reaction to the barbie-doll body type that is so prevalent in popular media. Other lines like “every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top” are the focus of the song. And I say this as someone who is one of them “skinny bitches”, I’ve tried hard my whole life to gain weight because I have always been so thin. I don’t take offense to that line at all. I think it is hard for any of us to live up the stereotypes of the perfect woman on magazines and in movies and television and I think it is completely reasonable to react against that with an artistic expression.

      Like

  9. earth2bellas
    October 13, 2014

    Meant to say thanks for suggesting this show btw…my new fav thing ever! Even the hub likes it and he’s a hard sell.

    The youngest girl I know is my sister (20) does that count? Lol. Anyway she REALLY respects Lady Gaga for many reasons. I don’t know how much sex she uses though…

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 13, 2014

      Oh yeah. We’ve only been watching the Voice for a couple of seasons. I like that they have ‘coaches’ instead of ‘judges’, it changes the whole atmosphere of the competition.

      Like

      • earth2bellas
        October 13, 2014

        I’m only on episode 3 bc I can’t watch it before bed…I get too excited 😜

        Liked by 1 person

  10. inmycorner
    October 13, 2014

    I”m with you with respect to Gwen Stefani. I’m old (er) and really don’t like the direction of some of our young female artisits. Such talent, but it is lost to me in lyrics that my Mom would roll in her grave if she heard. Hats off to Gwen!

    Like

  11. Very Bangled
    October 13, 2014

    Here here! Gwen Stefani is sooo right. She’s talented, writes her own music, is a college graduate. Excellent example. So one of the Kardashians apparently said she wants to be the next Katy Perry, and my very first thought was “I wish for once, a Kardashian would say ‘I want to get a college degree.'” This ties back to everything because there’s such a barren waste land of educated female role models. Ever read a tweet by Miley? It’s the writing level if a kindergartner. But Gwen Stefani, there’s a smart, educated, talented, successful, rock star. Very good recommendation. And I’m not saying college is necessary for everyone, I’m saying education is, and college is one of the best means to achieve an education.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 13, 2014

      Girls and young women of today deserve a Gwen Stefani of their own, don’t you think? Isn’t there anyone?

      I agree with what you are saying about education. I feel like at lot of shortcomings that people are typically criticized for are the result of a lack of opportunity when it comes to information and education. Not everyone has equal access. That is a place where our society, as advanced as it is, has a lot of room for improvement still.

      Like

Honk at me:

Information

This entry was posted on October 13, 2014 by in Culture and tagged , , , , , , , .
