The Honking Goose

something to honk about

I know how the internet works

I may have given some of you experts the impression that I don’t know how the internet works. In my post also down the rabbit hole about googling myself, I made some erroneous statements. I said that google ‘has my information’ and ‘will get more of my information’. That is false. Other sites host all that information that I found about myself and google does ‘have’ any of it. Google merely points in the direction of the sites where that information can be found.
networked computers

I glossed over those details in an effort to make my points easily digestible. I do stuff like this and then it catches up with me later. Sometimes readers point out my errors. In this case, no one has pointed these mistakes out to me yet. All this pointing-out-ness came from the voices in my own head this time. And I therefore urge you, dear readers, Be More Vigilant. Do not believe everything you read here at the Honking Goose. I have taken liberties. I have been loose and unrestrained in my interpretation of reality.

The internet is a web of half-truths and naked celebrity pictures, a majority of which are photoshopped fakes. Please be careful out there, people.

39 comments on “I know how the internet works

  1. Carl D'Agostino
    October 23, 2014

    When I google my name there are 8 people with my exact first and middle name and unique spelling of last name. That’s impossible. Also found an obit of fellow died with exact name, same city of birth and same day of birth with only one difference born one year later than me. Maybe all the bill’s I get belong to someone else.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 23, 2014

      Yes, we can even use the Google to learn things we didn’t know about ourselves. šŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. gwen07
    October 22, 2014

    Adore your blog — it is fresh, conversational, amusing and entirely right on the money. You are a modern-day Erma Bombeck. EB is someone I wanted to be but that was before the popularity of the internet, my son’s adolescence, and my failure to see our cultural glass as ‘half full’ — I don’t follow many but I will follow you. šŸ™‚

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 22, 2014

      I’m really flattered. Thank you for the generous compliment. I’ll admit I had to look up Erma Bombeck. She sounds pretty cool. I’m going to check out her books next time I go the the library. šŸ˜€

      Like

      • normalisboringsoiheard
        October 23, 2014

        I am so sad you never heard of Erma Bombeck, because she was so awesome, and more importantly, because now I FEEL SO STINKIN OLD šŸ˜¦

        Like

        • thehonkinggoose
          October 23, 2014

          The name was familiar, I just couldn’t place it. These women who used to write anecdotal newspaper columns about their lives and their families – I like to think that they were the first bloggers – before blogging existed! šŸ˜€

          Like

  3. christianliving2014
    October 21, 2014

    What is cloud storage?

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 21, 2014

      Data stored on remote servers (as opposed to saving your files on your own home computer).

      Like

  4. christianliving2014
    October 21, 2014

    Very honest. Great write!

    Like

  5. normalisboringsoiheard
    October 21, 2014

    HA! I am not afraid of Google, I am afraid of “The Cloud”!!!

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 21, 2014

      Cloud storage sounded like a bad idea to me the first time I heard of it. It is amazing to me that people are so trusting.

      Like

  6. Opinionated Man
    October 21, 2014

    I just punched Google in the face and told him to back off.

    Like

  7. Supriya
    October 21, 2014

    But google really knows you & does store some data – more than caching & more about you than just listing the other sites that host your info. They know what you are searching – meaning they know what you are thinking – to a certain degree. I am looking for a new book to read – I am googling it and so it knows. If I am looking to go for a holiday – Google knows it too. If I am using google maps – it knows where I am heading. If I receive an email (in my gmail) about containing something about … Insurance let’s say – it knows that too and in fact shows some related adverts too. Because I use google so much – like everybody else, Google knows & stores a lot of info about me. It will not make all data it knows about me public but it still knows me and will use it for its own benefit.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 21, 2014

      Gosh, you’re right. Google knows more about us than many of our friends do. What a strange world we are living in.

      Like

      • Supriya
        October 22, 2014

        Agreed. And its getting stranger everyday!
        Now this comment would perhaps make me look like a total smart ass but I thought I should point out that you are referring to the Internet and the web as the same thing… they are not šŸ™‚

        Like

        • thehonkinggoose
          October 22, 2014

          Dangit! Okay I googled it. The internet includes the world wide web, but additionally also other infrastructure and peer-to-peer networks, according to wikipedia. But what does that even mean?

          Like

          • Supriya
            October 22, 2014

            LoL, confusion is understandable. Think of internet as the “medium” which the www uses. Internet is used for many other things besides the web… I will see if there are some articles that clarifies the difference in less geeky terms and share with you if you are interested?

            Like

  8. Very Bangled
    October 21, 2014

    Google does have all that data, though. They aggregate and collect everything, but when you google yourself Google points you in the direction of the information gathering source. And then it watches and stores that interaction too.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 21, 2014

      Are you talking about how they cache websites? I suppose that counts. Good point.

      Like

      • Very Bangled
        October 21, 2014

        I think it goes even beyond that. Tracking your clicks, using that to determine your location and preferences to customize ads and then there’s the wealth of data that Google just sits on, waiting to figure out how to monetize it. I can’t remember where you find it but there’s a way to see what Google thinks of you. Age, gender, interests, languages, location. It was on lifehacker.com

        Like

  9. annj49
    October 21, 2014

    I’m thankful for your initial post, because it made me look again at how Google is listing me based on what I am doing on the Internet. It’s a good exercise to do every once in a while. It shows you what information people can readily access from your input. I had done that quite a few years ago when there wasn’t so much listed. It’s different now, because I have been more active in more places. Good to know.

    Like

  10. NotAPunkRocker
    October 21, 2014

    You forgot the kitten pictures.

    Like

  11. Your Moderate Mama
    October 21, 2014

    I’m glad you do because I don’t ;-)!!!

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 21, 2014

      As long as you don’t think the internet exists somewhere above us in the atmosphere, like my MIL did for years, you are in pretty good shape.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. pseudonym to go here
    October 21, 2014

    If everybody was 100% accurate 100% of the time, the world would be a terribly boring place.

    Like

  13. Red Dust
    October 21, 2014

    If we all were error free all the fun of learning would be gone …. Hounds like treats, I grew up with a pack …hahaha ā¤

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 21, 2014

      I guess I could share my crickets and worms then, if they promise not to eat ME.

      Like

  14. Yoshiko
    October 21, 2014

    Thank you for you to share your info and the courage to admit your errors.

    Like

  15. sonmicloud
    October 21, 2014

    Thank heaven’s I did not release the hounds!

    *smiles*

    – sonmicloud

    Like

Honk at me:

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2014 by in Unsolicited Advice and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
