The Honking Goose

something to honk about

I need some more yoga pants to not do yoga in

I have tried yoga on several occasions. I am totally the hippie chick type that should like yoga. I want to like it. I have tried to like it. I don’t hate it. I just don’t love it. And I am finally comfortable enough to accept that about myself.

woman in yoga pose wearing black yoga pants

What I do love is to dance. Give me a good beat and it doesn’t matter who is or isn’t there to witness it, I will dance my tail off. When I visit my step mom, I go to jazzercise with her and I wear yoga pants. I tried Pilates in college and I liked that. I would do Pilates again. In yoga pants.

I love me some yoga pants. I wear them around the house, cooking, cleaning, watching TV. I wear them to bed. So nice. I do not wear them out in public. If I did, I would feel like I was out in my pajamas, because I would be out in my pajamas. But as soon as I get home, I take off my jeans and change into my yoga pants. So comfortable. And whereas I used to try so hard to look cool with my thrift chic fashionista style, these days I’m much more interested in being comfortable.

I need some more yoga pants. These are my thoughts this evening, as I sit here relaxing in my yoga pants…

64 comments on “I need some more yoga pants to not do yoga in

  1. Pingback: The Honking Goose! | onehundredtwentythreedays

  2. Ursula
    October 30, 2014

    I also love comfy yoga pants, but not yoga. My kids and I have random dance parties all the time though. We crank some Daft Punk, turn of all the lights, grab flashlights and dance like maniacs until we collapse. So fun.

    Like

  3. rebeccaalene
    October 28, 2014

    Yes! I’ve tried to love yoga too but just don’t. I’d much rather take a run then stretch my way through a yoga class. My one exception was when my biological sister (who just finished taking classes to be a yoga instructor) led my mama and I through some poses. An hour flew by and I could do that, with her, every damn day. 🙂

    Like

  4. divorcedandsingleblog
    October 27, 2014

    I do yoga from time to time and I have done so for a while now, but I have never owned a pair of yoga pants. not sure why. Maybe it’s time to invest in them.

    Like

  5. marycheshier
    October 25, 2014

    Great post! A delightful inspiration. 🙂

    Like

  6. Kimberly
    October 25, 2014

    I’ve never worn yoga pants. They sound comfortable. I wouldn’t sleep in them though. I don’t like stuff on my legs while I sleep. That being said, I’d totally wear them in public. Speaking of wearing P.J’s. in public. I saw someone walk into the grocery store in her P.J’s. the other evening. She must’ve had the nighttime munchies and needed a bedtime snack. I would never wear P.J’s. in public.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 25, 2014

      I saw a mom picking up her kid from school wearing pajama pants. But they were brand new looking, red with candy canes. And she is 8 months pregnant. So I said to myself, YES, that person totally deserves to wear pajamas in public. She’s growing a freaking human inside her.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kimberly
        October 25, 2014

        Yea, no kidding. I remember when Is preggers I just wanted to lay spread eagle nekkid and nobody touch me.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. wanderingalmond
    October 25, 2014

    I too feel I should love yoga but in reality I love yoga apparel way more. Not sure what constitutes “yoga pants” these days but I love them all! (skinnies, bootcut, harem, relaxed, foldover belly, control top, cotton, luon, LJ excel, pockets, no pockets..). Reckon dark colours are best – a bit scared by some of those psychedelic, flowery, fireworks-type pants! There was a dubious time when people used to wear their Lululemons to the office….

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 25, 2014

      Oh, I think patterned leggings are super cute on other people. I wouldn’t be comfortable in them, though.

      Like

  8. Gordon Flanders
    October 24, 2014

    Here is a link to a video with a guy singing about yoga pants. Everyone loves them. I’m wearing them now.

    Like

  9. Inthegazeoftheother
    October 24, 2014

    I was born for comfort and love yoga pants and Pink drawstring sweats…to do yoga in and to lounge. I, however, am not averse to wearing either outside to run to the market or the corner store. I live in the land of sunshine where that sort of thing is more current. Thank goodness.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 25, 2014

      ‘born for comfort’ that sounds very good – I had to grow into it 😀

      Like

  10. Terri Webster Schrandt
    October 24, 2014

    I have yoga pants for workouts and yoga pants/capris for outside the house. I wear Old Navy mens boxer pants (pjs) in the house, but NOT outside. Nor do I wear my slippers to the store. Be comfy AND be fashionable LOL!

    Like

  11. Gert Loveday
    October 24, 2014

    No no no! You can’t have tried Iyengar yoga. None of the waffle and it makes you soooo strong

    Like

  12. creepymom
    October 24, 2014

    I believe I’ve seen some very similar thoughts on the Scary Mommy website…. everyone seems to love yoga pants

    Like

  13. NotAPunkRocker
    October 24, 2014

    They are Politically Correct pajamas for in and out of the house.

    Old Navy yoga pants are the bestest. Cheap and comfy.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 24, 2014

      Would you believe it? I live somewhere so remote the nearest Old Navy is four hours away.

      Like

      • NotAPunkRocker
        October 24, 2014

        :-O

        You have my sympathy, though you probably also have more money than me. I ‘m a sucker for their sweaters this time of year.

        Like

        • thehonkinggoose
          October 24, 2014

          I wouldn’t bet on it. However, I am going from being unemployed to soon-to-be minimum wage worker, so I am moving on up. 🙂

          Like

  14. onehundredtwentythreedays
    October 24, 2014

    LOL! I feel the same about Yoga (forced myself to take 5 prenatal classes) but I love tai chi and Nia! I am not one for appearances (I don’t even own any makeup). I wear my yoga pants around the house and out & about! Sweater wrap + yoga pants with my 5 month old in her Moby wrap = pure comfort. I am a work-from-home-mom which is damn close to a SAHM and I look like it 🙂

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 24, 2014

      I see plenty of women wearing yoga pants out and about in the world and they look fine to me. Comfortable and fine. But I would feel awkward. Maybe if I had more and I had a pair reserved for wearing out that wasn’t my pajama pair.

      Like

  15. mybrightspots
    October 24, 2014

    I do yoga and I have yoga pants but I never do yoga in my yoga pants. I do yoga in jeans – which is an awful choice – but I do yoga on my lunch break twice a week at work and I wear jeans to work. It’s more of a “chair yoga” class so we don’t get into any really complicated poses. I, too, really like my yoga pants. You make me want to change into them when I get home from work! But I’ll need at least another pair or two so I have one to wear while the other is being washed.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 24, 2014

      Ugh, yoga in jeans. The thought makes me not love yoga more. But I know in my heart that yoga is good and I fully support other people’s love of it. 😀

      Like

  16. annabellefranklinauthor
    October 24, 2014

    I do yoga, and I love yoga pants – but I don’t have any! At the moment I am searching for the perfect yoga pant – any recommendations would be most welcome!
    Thank you so much for finding and following me and Millie. Following you right back! 🙂

    Like

  17. Athena OfAthens
    October 24, 2014

    I love this post and I ALSO LOVE TO DANCE…I will dance ANYWHERE AT ANY TIME. Dancing is good for the soul. I love the yoga shorts….but not yoga…yet.

    Like

  18. joeyfullystated
    October 24, 2014

    Like you, after being out, I shed my jeans or trousers and put on comfy pants. Some of them are yoga pants. When I wear actual pants in my house, everyone knows I am going somewhere, especially the dog, heh.
    I do yoga, but in whatever I happen to have on in the morning. Most often pajama pants, because clearly I am all about not wearing proper clothes.
    I’ll admit to wearing yoga pants or sweats to run out for drive-thru DQ or Redbox, but not commonly.

    Like

  19. The Daily Blabber
    October 24, 2014

    I am not typically a yoga pant/sweat pant wearer. However Wednesday, it was raining so bad that the jeans that I was wearing were soaked about mid calf. I came home changed pants and headed back out to buy actual sweatpants. I went to Champion picked up a couple of pair, came home washed them and put on a pair, fresh and warm from the dryer. So comfy. I now understand why people live in these soft and comfy pants.

    Like

  20. Creative Blog Mom
    October 24, 2014

    Agreed. 😉

    Like

  21. Annabel
    October 23, 2014

    I hear yah about being comfortable as I do exactly the same lol!!

    Like

  22. normalisboringsoiheard
    October 23, 2014

    Lol, What I really like is when women wear them down to sheer, and you can see through them, I do wear yoga pants quite a bit myself too! But the see through pant is always a good laugh! Sorry people!

    Like

  23. Underdaddy
    October 23, 2014

    I think the inventor of the yoga pant craze deserves an award. Sure we have to deal with the fringe abuse of size vs material but for the most part it is sweet.

    Like

  24. amommasview
    October 23, 2014

    A fellow Jazzerciser! Used to work as an instructor and love(d) it!!!!

    Like

  25. mewhoami
    October 23, 2014

    I’m so with you! I love yoga pants. They are my go-to attire as soon as I walk in the door each day.

    Like

  26. christianliving2014
    October 23, 2014

    I love to dance and kick box.

    Like

  27. John
    October 23, 2014

    Well – I confess to never trying them but they sure look comfy! My wife is grossed out by seeing women wearing them in public. Especially when the person is… living large.

    Like

    • thehonkinggoose
      October 24, 2014

      Not for the faint of heart. But everybody deserves to feel comfortable, no matter their size.

      Like

Honk at me:

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2014 by in Culture and tagged , , , , , , , .
