The Honking Goose

something to honk about

AUMA: California’s Prop.64 Adult Use of Marijuana Act

There is a good chance Californians will pass Prop 64, the Adult Use of Marijuana Act, on November 4th. I am for legalization and I will likely vote yes.

cannabis-303914_640

I have many friends who are pro-marijuana, but not all of them are pro-legalization. They are, rather, pro-medical marijuana and pro-decriminalization.

This has become a hotly debated topic among my social media network of homies. And some folks are downright rabid about exposing the downsides of AUMA and urging others to vote against the bill. But I’m finding all their arguments to be pretty weak.

For instance, how the tax revenue will be divided: $10M to a public university or universities; $3M annually to the California Highway Patrol; $10M Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development; $2M UCSD for medicinal cannabis research; remaining funds: 60% Department of Health Care Services and the Department of Education; 20% environmental restoration; 20% state and local law enforcement. I really don’t see anything wrong with those allocations.

A major criticism of AUMA is that it will dismantle the currently effective 215 law which allows medical marijuana for patients. I’ve had read different interpretations of the bill, written by lawyers, which say that it will or it won’t. I don’t think we’ll know for sure unless 64 passes. This is the most reasonable and concerning critique of Prop 64 that I have read.

I’ve also been warned, by posts on social media, that unwarranted searches of people’s homes will be allowed. Considering that would violate the Constitution, I can’t take that claim seriously. And that youth under 21 will face jail time for sharing marijuana with each other or that adults will face jail time for sharing marijuana with youths. Considering that under legalization, marijuana will be have legal status similar to alcohol, I think we can expect violations of the law regarding minors to be treated similarly to alcohol violations. I feel okay with those legal constraints.

And then even further afield, an “article” of sorts entitled, “AUMA Exposed as NWO Plot to Keep Black Market Prices on Cannabis – As the Rich Oppress the Poor.” Come on, friends, really?? If there was any proof whatsoever on the page about any kind of plot, I would be curious, but there isn’t.

Buuuut… since these ‘boys crying wolf’ keep insisting that we, the voters, read the entire 62 page text of the Proposition before voting on it, that is now my goal. I’m am going to attempt to read this bill. Wish me luck.

One comment on “AUMA: California’s Prop.64 Adult Use of Marijuana Act

  1. Fast eddy edwards
    October 26, 2016

    Reblogged this on Black Market Media Canada.

    Like

Honk at me:

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2016 by in Culture, Politics and tagged , , , , , , .
