The Honking Goose

something to honk about

Five things I hate about my job that I don’t have anymore

joann1

And now, on DIA DE LOS MUERTOS, DAY OF THE DEAD, hate for a job I no longer have, risen from the grave to haunt me.

I worked at Jo-ann Fabric and Craft for about a year and a half. At the time, I wanted to complain constantly about all the things I hated about that job. But I restrained myself from saying much about it at all on my blog. That is because I worried there was an outside chance someone could find the things I wrote and hold me accountable. I’m not sure how, and that’s probably very unlikely. Now I don’t care. I quit working there and I don’t ever plan on working there again.

joann3
Writing about the sucky things about that job will be a good reminder to me that my current job, though annoying at times, like all jobs, is not nearly as bad.

joann2

Top Five Worst Aspects of Working for Jo-ann Fabrics

#1: No set schedule. Everyone’s schedule constantly shifted, even the store managers, based on available hours. The schedule wasn’t available until about a week ahead, and during the holidays there are black-out periods when you can’t request time off so there is no way to plan ahead for traveling or holiday time with extended family.

#2: Waiting outside in the dark and the cold to be let in to work in the mornings. So lame. It doesn’t snow here, like the picture above, but still, at 5am when it is raining and cold you can get pretty mad waiting outside for even five minutes for a manager to let you in the door.

#3: Constant pressure to reach what corporate calls “good store standards”, without the available hours or means to do so. The primarily effect of which is breaking the will and spirit of the few employees who do come to work wanting to do their best.

#4: Forced to work in air filled with toxic cleaning chemicals without proper ventilation. I even filed an OSHA complaint about it once, but to no avail. If the floors were cleaned and waxed the night before, it was toxic soup all day, headaches and nausea, and nowhere to go to get away from it.

#5: Sales policies that force workers to pitch product “add-ons” of things customers don’t need. Might make the company more money overall, but doesn’t do much good for the individual employees forced to be pushy or practically beg customers to buy extra items.

I may, in the future, dedicate an entire post to each one of these items on the list. Just to really vent and get it off my chest. I still feel a lot of resentment towards Jo-ann corporate and I think writing about it more will help. So sorry ahead of time.

What is the worst part of a job you have (or had)?

22 comments on “Five things I hate about my job that I don’t have anymore

  1. kirkhsmith
    November 6, 2016

    My wife’s a crafter, so I’ve been to more Jo-Ann’s than I care to admit. Couldn’t imagine working there– I get queasy just walking in the front door.

    Liked by 2 people

    • thehonkinggoose
      November 6, 2016

      Next time you are in, try joking around with the employees, they are probably bored out of their minds, too.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Opinionated Man
    November 2, 2016

    I hate when companies do blackout period. That is so unfair and honestly it puts a ton of stress on people and their families!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Grumpa Joe
    November 2, 2016

    When I did work, the worst part of the job was listening to the gripes of my fellow team members, and not being able to change the conditions that caused their gripes.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Yonni's Wacky Workshop
    November 2, 2016

    Oh my! Good thing that I am no longer allowed to shop, or even enter one of their stores. I have three laundry baskets of fabric remnants that I purchased there for crafts and never have had the time to do. I had to law down the law for myself and I am no longer spending money at JoAnne’s, Michael’s or Pearl Art Centers! 😊👍

    Liked by 1 person

    • thehonkinggoose
      November 2, 2016

      I used to buy stuff all the time when I worked Jo-Ann because I was really inspired. Then just before I quit, they changed the employee discount. When I started, employees could use the store coupons and save an additional 20% with the employee discount. Before I left, they took that away so the employee discount would not work with coupons, meaning we basically couldn’t even get a better deal than the customers. What a crock of manure!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Mrs. Mother Dirt
    November 2, 2016

    Oh man, where to begin… I worked my way through college (both undergraduate and graduate degrees) by working at WalMart. I started there in the late 1990’s when the company was still family owned and run and I totally LOVED the culture and dedication the company had to it’s employees. If everyone worked hard and the store turned a profit, we got quarterly bonuses (also known as profit sharing) – NOT just the store manager and management – EVERYONE got a cut and it was often times several hundred dollars at a time (to EVERY EMPLOYEE). I was introduced to 401k retirement savings and stock. It was great for a young 20 year old. Fast forward to the post 9-11 era and the turn-over of the company into corporate greed…. it all changed!!! So many benefits were cut, discontinued and it became pretty demoralizing. Lucky for me I now had my education and found much better jobs that pay well, have good benefits, and allow me to have work-life balance AND a career. I often dream of becoming an entrepreneur and offering living wages and great perks – I think it would attract better employees and less turn over. Rant on Sister!!!

    Liked by 3 people

    • thehonkinggoose
      November 2, 2016

      Demoralizing is the word for it. Working under these corporate policies is so demoralizing. To the point where someone who comes in as an energetic employee who wants to do well and meet their potential can become absolutely crushed under those conditions. Some of us do have a path out to something better, but I really feel for the people who are stuck there.

      Did you hear about Chobani yogurt company? They recently, last spring, gave all of their 2000 full time employees a stake in the company that could be worth millions. That is a cool story. More like that please…

      Liked by 2 people

      • Mrs. Mother Dirt
        November 2, 2016

        I agree. And more CEOs like the CEO of COSTCO!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Dragnfli
    November 2, 2016

    Numbers 1, 3 and 4 are my main complaints in retail. I work for Walmart and addd to that the pressure on store management to raise sales and cut payroll at the same time. And then they wonder why the “friendly” quotient in the customer experience survey is dropping like a rock.

    Liked by 2 people

    • thehonkinggoose
      November 2, 2016

      Who’s bright idea is it to put all the pressure on the lowest rung of employees when they have no power to function more effectively because of conflicting policies? It seems so destructive.

      Mrs.MotherDirt in the comment above yours worked at Walmart, too. She knows exactly what you mean.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. vvuureoc
    November 1, 2016

    Managing a conference room

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Elyse
    November 1, 2016

    The way retailers fuck over their workers with their schedules is criminal in my opinion. It might be acceptable if they paid living wages, but they don’t. Still, they prevent their workers from having set schedules so that they can get work elsewhere in addition. Or can arrange childcare or whatever. It is something that should change.

    I have had boring jobs, and jobs working for assholes, but they were long ago, and I’ve got nothing to complain of now.

    I hope your next/current venture is way better!

    Liked by 3 people

    • thehonkinggoose
      November 2, 2016

      It is absolutely criminal. Also their policy of hiring many part time employees instead of a few full time employees so they don’t have to pay benefits. It is a targeted, intentional policy that systematically oppresses poor people. That needs to change as well, to get our economy back on track for all people.

      Liked by 2 people

  9. TheOriginalPhoenix
    November 1, 2016

    Never held a job but yikes that sounds rough! I’m glad you’re not stuck there anymore!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. First Night Design
    November 1, 2016

    Having my hands cut to ribbons when working in the Elizabeth Arden factory in Acton (UK) on a ‘line’ and being responsible for putting makeup into those plastic, sharp-edged containers that then go into their ‘pretty’ boxes. And oh, the boredom! It was the holidays during drama school so I knew it would end for me. Some of the women had been working there for decades. My heart went out to them.

    Liked by 2 people

    • thehonkinggoose
      November 2, 2016

      Ooo, such a dark side to light things, eh? My heart too, goes out to those women who’ve been there ‘long time’. And it was pretty much all women at Jo-ann too (oh, except for upper management, hmm).

      Liked by 2 people

Honk at me:

Information

This entry was posted on November 1, 2016 by in Work and tagged , , , , , , .
