The Honking Goose

something to honk about

Hell in a Handbasket or Slow Boat to China


prez2016

This is the decision our nation will face on November 8th. It’s obvious right?

Trump = Hell in a Handbasket

Clinton = Slow Boat to China

If you have read any of my recent political posts you know I won’t be choosing either one. But as a nation, divided, we will. One of these two humans will be POTUS. Good luck, y’all. See you on the other side.

13 comments on “Hell in a Handbasket or Slow Boat to China

  1. thehonkinggoose
    November 10, 2016

    Okay! Hell in a Handbasket it is!!

    Like

  2. hbhatnagar
    November 5, 2016

    Maybe vote Gary Johnson and at least people will have weed while their world collapses around them? 😉 😀
    I know it’s no joking matter though…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. latskojerry
    November 5, 2016

    People have been made lazy about what many mistakenly believe is their “democracy” and perhaps put too much weight on who gets elected president and not nearly enough on what their duties might be in an actual participatory democracy. Television molds the minds the way that slippery orators used to and then, later on, Newsreels and newspapers. Going back to Eisenhower, I haven’t perceived real change in my life as a result of anyone becoming president. It’s a bit of reality TV now that gives people someone or something to bitch about, which is why Trump fits in so well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thehonkinggoose
      November 5, 2016

      It is lazy, I agree. But then, people are very comfortable. It takes a presidential election and the ensuing media frenzy to get a few people to try and push their values on the rest of the country by way of who they elect. But even then, a vast number of people don’t even vote, they aren’t even stirred to action in those four year presidential increments.

      I have to assume non-voters are the most comfortable of all. Whether their president starts more or less wars, raises or lowers taxes, destroys or protects more environment, allows more or less reproductive rights, etc, they are just pretty damn content. Content enough to not really care which way the wind blows.

      And given the nature of modern conveniences and luxuries in our nation, it is understandable that a lot of people would be. They’re already set. They have a job, a car, a house, and tv and internet access. So they don’t need to participate in the democracy. It is working fine for them already without their involvement.

      Like

  4. Elyse
    November 5, 2016

    In 1980, I couldn’t bring myself to vote for Jimmy Carter. He’d been so weak. But Ronald Reagan? Nope. He was crazy. And old. And a dope whose philosophy I could never agree on.

    I voted for John Anderson. I gave the world Ronald Reagan who put us onto our current path. Jimmy Carter is a wise, generous man.

    Our next president will be Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump. Any third party vote is a vote for Trump.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thehonkinggoose
      November 5, 2016

      What about Republicans who vote for Gary Johnson? Isn’t that – by your measure – a vote for Clinton?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Elyse
        November 6, 2016

        Yes, but there aren’t many of those. And it is a wasted vote.

        Liked by 1 person

        • thehonkinggoose
          November 6, 2016

          I strongly disagree that any votes are wasted votes. I understand logically why you take that point of view, but I respectfully disagree.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Elyse
            November 6, 2016

            I used to believe that. And then I gave the world Ronald Reagan. I have never forgive myself. Anderson was never going to win. Neither is Johnson or Stein.

            Liked by 1 person

            • thehonkinggoose
              November 6, 2016

              That is a lot of weight to carry around on your shoulders. I think you should put it down.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Elyse
              November 6, 2016

              No I work to make sure candidates who deserve to be in office get there. I follow government. I understand civics and I do what I can to protect my rights and those of others.

              IMHO, Ronald Reagan did deep and lasting damage. I don’t want anybody else to be able to do that too.

              Liked by 1 person

Honk at me:

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2016 by in Politics and tagged , , , , , .
